كونجينيكا

تأسست شركة كونجينيكا في عام 2014 منطلقةً من معهد ويلكوم سانجر، إحدى المؤسسات البحثية الرائدة في مجال الجينات الوراثية (الجينوم). وأطلقت الشركة منصة “سابينشيا” المتخصصة في تحليلات الجينوم والتي توفر تحاليل لسلاسل الحمض النووي البشري لتمكين الأطباء والاختصاصيين من تقديم تفسير علمي للأمراض الوراثية.

تعمل كونجينيكا على تحسين فرص التوصيف الجيني للأمراض الوراثية، مما يسهم في دعم المختبرات نحو تعزيز النتائج التحليلية بنسبة 30% مقارنة بمتوسط المعدلات في هذا المجال، ويسهم أيضا في اختصار الوقت المستغرق لإجراء التحاليل وبالتالي تقليص التكلفة بنسبة 95%، وبذلك تتحسن مستويات فاعلية التشخيص وترتفع كفاءة سير العمل. كما تدعم المنصة التشخيص السريع والدقيق، وتوصيف الأمراض؛ مما يساعد على تزويد المرضى بالعلاج الذي يحتاجونه بشكل أسرع.  

التأثير المحلّي

يُصاب ما بين 5% إلى 7% من المواليد العمانيين بأمراض وراثية، وهو معدل أعلى من المتوسط العالمي الذي يوازي 4.4%؛ بالإضافة إلى وجود أكثر من 300 نوع من الأمراض الوراثية في السلطنة. لذلك، يُعد الاستثمار في كونجينيكا فرصة جيدة لتعريف وجلب هذه التقنيات المبتكرة للسلطنة كي تساهم في تحسين جودة الخدمات في المؤسسات الصحية وترشيد تكاليف الرعاية الصحية.

وفي عام 2019، وقعت كونجينيكا مع المركز الوطني للصحة الوراثية اتفاقية للمساعدة في إدارة حالات المرضى العمانيين المصابين بأمراض وراثية نادرة. 

القيمة المضافة عن طريق الشركة العمانية لتطوير الابتكار 

توجد إمكانية كبيرة لاستخدام قدرات كونجينيكا والانتفاع بها في جميع المرافق الطبية والوراثية في السلطنة وفي منطقة الشرق الأوسط بشكل أوسع. تعمل الشركة العمانية لتطوير الابتكار مع كونجينيكا وعدد من الشركاء المحليين والإقليميين على استكشاف الفرص لتوسيع استخدام تقنيات وامكانيات منصة كونجينيكا، والتنسيق مع الجهات المعنية لضمان الاستفادة من هذه التقنية في جميع أنحاء سلطنة عمان وخارجها.

كما تتطلع الشركة العمانية لتطوير الابتكار إلى الاستفادة من هذه الشراكة لدعم جهود السلطنة نحو تبسيط عملية إنشاء سجلات عينات المرضى ومعالجتها وتتبعها رقمياً. 

القطاع: الصحة الرقمية المقر الرئيسي: المملكة المتحدة سنة الاستثمار: ٢٠٢٠

Congenica

Congenica was founded in 2014 as a Spin out from the Wellcome Sanger Institute, one of the leading genetic research institutions. The company’s platform, Sapientia, is a clinical genomic analytics platform that provides integration of human DNA sequences with deep clinical phenotyping, enabling clinicians and researchers to provide actionable interpretation of genetic disease for patients.

Congenica improves the opportunity for genomic characterization of disease. Supporting laboratories to achieve 30% higher analytical yields than averages and reduce analysis times and costs by 95%. This enables improvement of diagnostic confidence, maximize workflow efficiency and increase diagnostic yield and case throughput. It also supports rapid and accurate diagnoses and disease characterization, helping to provide patients with the treatment they need faster.

Oman Impact

Genetic diseases occur in about 5% to 7% of newborns in Oman, which is significantly higher than the global average of 4.4%, with more than 300 types of inherited diseases in Oman. This is a large undertaking by the Ministry of Health, and an opportunity to introduce technologies to relieve the burden and reduce the cost of helping these patients. 

In 2019, Congenica signed an agreement with the National Genetic Centre to aid in the management of Omani patients with rare genetic diseases.

IDO Value Add

With Congenica’s capabilities, there is vast potential for utilisation throughout advanced medical and genetic facilities in Oman and the wider GCC region. IDO Investments, together with Congenica and other regional partners are exploring opportunities to expand use, and are coordinating with relevant stakeholders to ensure benefit of this technology throughout Oman and beyond. 

IDO Investments is also looking to use this partnership to aid Oman’s efforts in digitally streamlining the capture, processing and tracking of patient sample records.

Industry: Digital Health Headquarters: UK Year Invested: 2020 Visit Website